Travel ban to US citizen at America and Africa [Jul 2021]

travel restriction for us citizen
Travel restriction for US citizen

After a long time of isolation and travel ban, many wanderlusts must be in the cabin fever nuts. But after the vaccination campaign, the government lift the social distancing order, people can start going out and live a normal life after getting fully vaccinated. The tourism service also starts backing the route. Now, you can travel around the country thanks to vaccines.

Unfortunately, not everyone has the privilege of accessing vaccines, hence, if you are planning your journey to a new and foreign destination, you will need to thoroughly check the venue and every piece of information about the entrance and departure of that country. In this article, I will summarize all the information about covid-19 restrictions us visas around the world as well as about other requests once you return to the United States. 


I/ Travel Ban information for USA citizens

Travel ban in South America and Canada

From the cold of the subarctic to the humid weather in the Amazon forest. There are many things for you to discover at the youngest yet the oldest continent of the Earth in culture and geography. With the rich and diversity of culture, races, histories, and the famous white sand long beaches, surely will please the strictest tourists.

South America is famous with colorful carnivals
South America is famous with colorful carnivals

Closed boundaries: 

Most of the countries are travelable except Canada, French Guiana, Islas Malvinas, Chile, Argentina, Cuba, and Uruguay, you will have to self-isolate at the accommodation or be quarantine from 5- 14 days depending on the country you visit law.

To visit Argentina, and Islas Malvina and travelers must prove that they visiting is for urgent family or work reasons. 


You can enter Canada, French Guiana, Chile, and Cuba if you are vaccinated. You will need the vaccination certificate in the validity period. 


Open with restrictions 

Except for Guatemala, you will just need to provide a negative Covid-19 test result to visit these countries. And you will be under self-isolation for 5  to 14 days. Quarantine time can be shortened by getting fully vaccinated.

Open for travelers

Countries without travel bans are Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, and Mexico.

For more information, visit UNWTO (world tourism organization)


Travel ban in Africa 

The rich culture and the diversity of flora and fauna are what Africa famous for. Breath-taking landscapes on the black continent are the wonderland for the adventurers.

the sunset in africa


Travel banned countries:

To visit these countries, you will need exceptional circumstances or you are their citizens, vaccinated certification, and negative covid-19 test 72h before. And you also need to isolate yourself after arriving these countries for at least 5-7 days. The list included: Algeria, Madagascar, Libya, Senegal, Guinea, Benin, Eritrea, South Sudan, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo, Eswatini.


Open with restrictions 

The rest of Africa requires travelers to have certificates about the negative covid-19 test 72h – 120h, you also have to fill the health declaration form beforehand.  When you are preparing to depart to Liberia, and Tunisia you also need to download a tracking app. Most of these countries open with restrictions, visitors from the USA will have to quarantine in 7-14 days after arrival, except Mali, Morocco, and Egypt.

II/ Return USA process

For coming back to the USA, you will need to take  RT-PCR (NAAT) or Antigen (quick-test) 72 hours before departure to the United States and you must be negative to the Covid-19. After that, taking government also require you to quarantines. You will need to retake the coronavirus test after 3 days of returning. You will quarantine after returning from some countries that open with restrictions and closed.

South America and Canada: 14 days Uruguay if you are unvaccinated, 14 days Canada, 10 days with Argentina and Chile. 

Africa: 5 – 10 days Algeria, Madagascar


Exception: if visitors return from those countries below, you are not required to self-isolation upon arrival USA

South America and Canada: French Guiana, Islas Malvinas, Uruguay if you are fully vaccinated.

Africa: Libya, Senegal, Guinea, Benin, Eritrea, South Sudan, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo, Eswatini. 


I hope this information was helpful for you. If you plan a trip outside of the States, please put your safety problems first. Wish you have an amazing and safe trip! 

And don’t forget to follow me on my social media, as well as checking all the latest news at News & Inspiration